Presentation:    Meet the 2013 NEHA Excellence in Sustainability Award Winner - Sustainability Incorporated into the Solids Handling Improvements of the Douglas L. Smith Middle Basin Treatment Plant

Speaker:              James Joerke

James Joerke, MPA
Deputy Director, Department of Health & Environment
Government of Johnson County, Kansas
Olathe, Kansas  66061

James Joerke (pronounced "Yorkie," like the terrier) has 16 years of experience in environmental protection and sustainability. He spent 11 years as a regional air quality planner and program manager before becoming Johnson County, Kansas' first sustainability program director in 2008.  Last year he took a new position with the Johnson County Department of Health & Environment where he now oversees environmental regulatory and child care licensing programs.